• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TAS: Graham Engineering Phantom III Tonearm - Equipment Report

Graham Engineering Phantom III Tonearm
    - Decidedly Effective

Equipment Report
    By Andre Jennings

"The Graham Phantom III met these requirements, was flawless in daily operation, and sounded pretty darn good. Give it a listen and see/hear what you think."

The TAS Report is now available online here: http://www.theabsolutesound.com/arti...m-iii-tonearm/

Every day is a good day to play analog.
    - 12" 33-1/3 RPM or 45 RPM vinyl
    - 10.5" 15ips or 30ips tape
    Every day is a good day for live music.

Nice review Andre. I have limited experience with Graham tonearms. For a Uni-pivot, they are decidedly more stable and have a more calm feel then other uni-pivots. I listened to the Graham with a Shelter Harmony Cartridge(A cartridge that I am not really familiar with). The sound was very nice. Do you know the effective mass of the 10" and 12" version of the Graham? Just looking at it, it looks like a medium mass tonearm. Thanks!
    CJ Gat, Lamm ML1.1, CJ Tea1 S3 phono, TW Acoustics Raven AC, Tri-Planer MK Vll SE, Vdh Crimson Stradivarius, Exemplar Modded 205(Tube Version), Rockport Avior ll Speakers, Shunyata Denali 6000t,Triton V3, Shunyata Python Zitron IC's & Sigma Speaker Cables. Shunyata Sigma Power Cables, Audio Desk Pro LP Cleaner, Stillpoints, Stillpoints Aperture Panels & MG Corner Tunes.

Comment

Thanks.

I didn't receive official effective mass numbers for the tonearm at any length.

However, All cartridges mentioned in that review fell within the 8-12 Hz range in practical application testing (which I feel is more of a tell when that option is possible) for resonances.

Dre

Comment

• Hawk
        Hawk commented
        Editing a comment