Hi from north Ca.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi from north Ca.

I stumbled on to this forum while surfing the web and have for the last several days reading the post and seeing a lot of names that I recognize or have met, so I decided I have to signe up, this is my first post and thought I’d tell you a little about me, first I’m retired and consider myself a DIY Audiophile skeptic, I’ve been messing around with Hi Fi and stereo equipment since the 1950 and always been interested audio and building speaker system and cabinets.

Since then I have build hundreds of speaker systems both Hi Fi audio and electric guitar selling most of them, also put together Eico, Dynakit and Heathkit amps and preamps and still have some of them, also upgrading vintage amps, preamp both tube and solid state.

As you can see I’ve been into this stuff for a long time and aside from building speaker cabinets my main interest is working on reel to reel tape decks which I have had many including a Heathkit reel to reel tape recorder which I also build but no longer have.

My main source for music is reel to reel tape and vinyl, sorry no digital I’m an analogman, my thing is too build a $4000 system that sounds like a $400,000 one.

My main system at present is a very simple and basic,

Sony TA-E90ES preamp, two McIntosh MC-40 mono block tube amps (which I upgraded & re-capped) Pro-ject TT, Ortofon Grado cartridges, Tascam BR-20, 42MB and Teac X2000M R2R tape decks, hand made solid wood speakers and all equipment tape deck stands and cabinets are also hand made. (All subject to change without notice) I have included some photos of my music room.

Nice system; I live in the South Bay.

I have recently found the most satisfying upgrades to be isolation (both top and bottom of units) and cleaner power; sound clarity is almost like a component change. I see from your pictures you have addressed some or most of these items.