Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mike In Texas

Hi guys,
    I live just North of San Antonio in Spring Branch, Texas. Our subdivision was a large ranch and is still surrounded by ranches. It is not uncommon to have 30 deer in the yard. I am a hospice nurse but I'm not a front line Covid hero. I've had cardiac issues that make me high risk and have me isolating at home. Audio is my primary interest and passion. My wife would say obsession. Typical of an affordable Audiophile level system I listen to what sounds good on my system. The Gillian Welch Dave Rawlins albums are amazingly well done, production and artistry. I listen to lot of small scale classical. The Chasing The Dragon release Vivaldi in Venice is superlative. As is the DTD Bach solo violin album by Ruth Palmer which they think may be the longest DTD takes every released. Taking me back to my youth I bought the MoFi One Step of Yes Fragile. It's a whole new experience on many levels.
    My hifi journey has been many places but has landed on the just right combination that I probably won't be able to afford to upgrade in any way that would make an appreciable difference. I just ordered a cartridge that I expect to be my last cartridge and last expensive HiFi purchase. I told my wife it's done. I don't need more than this. I have the Cube Nenuphar 10" widebanders that were demoed at AXPONA last year. These are powered by a First Watt SIT 3. The pre is The Truth no gain photo diode attenuated homemade looking black box from the back woods of South Carolina. Phono stage is a Sutherland 2020. TT is a VPI Classic 2. Peter Lederman once told me the VPI Classic is all the turntable a guy should ever need. Not that I wouldn't take a Kronos but it's not neccesary. The VPI is excellent. My current cartridge is a Grado Refence 2. It is a great cartridge. However I am soon to receive a Soundsmith Paua. I am very curious and more than a little excited to hear what the Paua is going to show me.