Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Privet from Moscow (the Russians are coming!))

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Privet from Moscow (the Russians are coming!))

Hi all.
    Honored to join such distinguished forum.
    Can’t brag about 40+year audiophile habit (I am only 43) and confess I am relatively new to the high end game (it’s just a hobby) - but quite enthusiastic to learn from all of you. Currently my (obviously quite modest by this forum’ standards) system is all analog: Studer 810, Nottingham+Lyra Delos with ARC electronics (PH3SE, VSi75) driving Forte III - and it makes me (and my building neighbors) sufficiently happy in a 220sq ft living room.
    I think my passion for music began in high school back in the USSR (late 80s) - must have been the excitement of regular police busts on our illegal LP market (outdoor, in an open field outside St. Peterburg at -20C in the winter) - owning/trading western records was illegal back then, so was the music itself. And I guess that’s why 70s rock is where it all began for me, but now with gray hair came appreciation for jazz and especially classical (luckily, living in Moscow, good live classical concerts in proper acoustic halls is a walk away all year around).
    Well, enough rambling on) - off to read this forum about reel to reel 2/15ips master tapes! (by the way, was able to score a few 1st generation copies, mostly classical, from local studio archives from the 70s...not a bad quality, even comparing to my Tape Project Oistrakh reference tape)

cheers,

Rustem

Last edited by Rustem; 01-23-2018, 03:00 PM.

добро пожаловать!
    I'm limited to google translate so don't think I am a russian speaker. I have, over the years, been in touch with Yuri Grishin, who has done all those fabulous labelographies of the famous british labels.