Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tape Vs. Vinyl: What Do You Hear?

Originally posted by Dre_J View Post

As a test, it will let one know if the vinyl front-end is solid. The vinyl setup is doing well If one can get the AP 45rpm of this album close to and/or match the clarity on dynamics and tracing of instruments and vocals.

Dre
    Here are my observations with tape vs. vinyl so far.. Remember I have limited experience with tape and certainly don't have an updated Studer or Ampex. I have a direct out Otari and a tube repro.

Lots of dynamic energy with tape. I find the sound has a homogeneous "smoothness" - this is not limited to my set up but with every set up I've heard recently- it can be quieter than vinyl but not necessarily true always.

Vinyl in the mega $000 can approach equal dynamics and can be uncannily quiet if the LP is cut accordingly ( try Shelby Lynne- "Just a little loving"- spooky- Vinyl has outstanding bandwidth , try: " You get more bounce with Curtis Coutnce" or " For Duke"- it is startling on my system with Beveridge Electrostats. I believe the headroom is there if the recording and mastering allows for it.

I think Atmasphere commented on this vinyl vs.tape in a post here somewhere ( I don't have time to find it).. now that I have had tape and vinyl for little while I will continue to compare.

Now for this to work for vinyl you have to be heavily invested in your front end -- way more than even an upgraded studer etc, I'd say you need to start at $60-80K at retail to "feel" the vinyl .

The advantage of vinyl is the "ubiquitousness" of the format. With tape you have the record option if you are so inclined and get dynamics in a box if you have an appropriate machine for less $ for that performance in vinyl.
    Phono: Aesthetix Io Eclipse with 2 Power Supplies and Volume controls