No announcement yet.

Jaco Pastorius & Word of Mouth Big Band in DSD128

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Jaco Pastorius & Word of Mouth Big Band in DSD128

    Truth, Liberty & Soul is an excellent new 2-album release in DSD128 Stereo featuring legendary electric bass player Jaco Pastorius and his Word of Mouth Big Band. It's newly released after a 6 year project to license the album for reissue by Resonance Records. The transfer from 24 Track Analog Tape to DSD128 was done by 2xHD.

    The album is not available on SACD. You can get it in both DSD128 and DSD64 for $25.59 from NativeDSD Music at the link below. (Along with a You Tube video on the reissue's journey to release).

    Recommended for Jaco Pastorius and electric bass fans!

    "Truth, Liberty & Soul is a new 2-album set from 2xhd featuring famed Jazz electric bass genius Jaco Pastorius.

    This is a first-time release from the Resonance Records collection of rare, previously unreleased classics that comprises more than 2 hours (over 130 minutes) of extraordinary high-fidelity ground-breaking music, this previously unreleased live album by Jaco Pastorius and the Word of Mouth Big Band. The band included Jaco Pastorius (Bass & Vocals), Bob Mintzer (Tenor and Soprano Saxophones and Bass Clarinet), Randy Brecker (Trumpet), Othello Molineaux (Steel Drums), Don Alias (Percussion), Peter Erskine (Drums), Blue Lou Marini (Tenor Sax), Jon Faddis (Trumpet), Jim Pugh (Trombone), David Bargeron (Tuba) and harmonica virtuoso Toots Thielemans as special guest.

    It was recorded in 24-Track Analog 24 by the The Record Plant mobile truck at Avery Fisher Hall in New York City on June 27, 1982 as part of George Wein's Kool Jazz Festival. The album is presented from beginning to end exactly as it happened.

    The album was created from the Original Analog Tapes and transferred to Stereo DSD 256 using the Merging Technologies Horus Analog to DSD 256 Converter and Pyramix software.

    Truth, Liberty & Soul is a DSD Exclusive, Not Available on SACD. It's available today at the Native DSD Music store for $22.06 in Stereo DSD 64 and $25.59 in Stereo DSD 128 and Stereo DSD 64. Get your copy of this amazing performance in DSD today!"

  • #2
    Thanks much for the recommendation. Just did the download and will look forward to listening. The video is real interesting.
    TIDAL Audio Agoria Loudspeakers; VAC, Merrill Audio & Bricasti electronics; Spiral Groove SG-2 TT with Centroid Arm & Transfiguration Proteus D Cartridge; Ampex ATR-102 with Merrill Audio Tape Preamp & Ampex electronics & Tape Project/Technics RS1500 reel-reels; Sonore Optical Signature RenduSE Network Player; Bricasti M12 DAC/Source Controller; Ansuz Cables & Power Distribution

    INDUSTRY AFFILIATION: Dealer- (VAC, Bricasti Design, Merrill Audio, Sonore, Ansuz, Synergistic Research & others)