Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Introduction and Kickstarter for new jazz AAA vinyl!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction and Kickstarter for new jazz AAA vinyl!

Hi,

I am a new member here. I'm a jazz musician and an audiophile. I have a Garrard 401 turntable, a Fisher X-100-3 amplifier and Rogers JR 149 speakers. In the digital world, I have a mac mini server with a Wavelength Brick V3 DAC and an Arcam FMJ23 CD player. I was recently profiled in the Stereophile series Musicians as Audiophiles.

Three years ago, the support of the audiophile community helped make a vinyl pressing of my album "The Turn" a reality. "The Turn" made a few "best of" lists for 2014 (LA Times, Boston Globe, DownBeat) and was also favorably reviewed in Stereophile and Analog Planet.

I recently recorded a new album, "No Filter", a project I co-lead with my old friend - and fantastic guitarist - Greg Tuohey. Like "The Turn", this record was recorded live to two track 1/2 inch tape at 30 ips by James Farber at Sear Sound. It will be mastered and cut to vinyl directly from the tape by Bernie Grundman but 96/24 downloads will also be available, as well as CDs.

We are trying to keep the vinyl affordable at $20 + shipping ($5 in the US). There are also fancier options, including 1/4 inch 15 ips tape and reference lacquer pressings.

I hope this is OK to post here. I thought people might be interested.

I am also happy to answer any and all questions.

The Kickstarter is here.

Thank you!

Jerome Sabbagh

Recording at Sear Sound with James Farber: $5600
    Tape: $2000
    Assembling the tape (cutting and piecing the tape together onto two reels so you can cut sides A and B of the vinyl): $760
    Mastering, cutting the lacquer and pressing the LPs: $7200
    Artwork (all formats): $1200
    Printing jackets and labels: $1500
    TOTAL = $18260

By the looks of some of these prices, you were taken advantage of.