The Pedragon dilemna

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Pedragon dilemna

Some of you may recall my enthusiastic commentary on the recent purchase of Tekton Designs Pendaragon speakers. As sort of rolling update, I've no intention of giving them up at any time in the foreseeable future. But they have caused me to do something I've never done before.

​I've used the tone controls to actually reduce bass on certain recordings. My old Infinitys, which were purchased because they were the cleanest sounding speakers I could find and afford were flat to 37 Hz. The new Pendragons extend down to 20 Hz. Which has led to discovering unpleasant things in the basement of recordings that had always been in continuous rotation.

Paul Schwartz produced a series of Aria recordings, a reimagining of a variety of operatic arias done with both live orchestra and synth and an at least serviceable soprano. The synth additions were of very low frequency and therein lies the problem. IMO the recording and mix was done with monitors which did not have extension to 20 Hz thus the finished recordings are hot below 40 Hz. The frequencies are low enough individual notes aren't exactly heard but more felt as a pressure on the sinuses and ears. It is somewhat unpleasant. It also muddies the performance in a way that was not apparent on any of my other speakers.

The muddiness is not a function of the speakers, it is a function of the recordings. I pulled out some dub-step and various "club" mixes that have very deep bass, cranked it up to stun and the bass was tight and fast. My neighbors agree, plenty of clean bass. Ooops.

And thus, audiophile nervosa, the upgrade of equipment leading to reevaluation of previously more enjoyable recordings. And a reaffirmation that the Pendargons are for the money, about as good as it gets.

Oh, the Aria III recording isn't nearly as overcooked as I and II.

Originally posted by Rust View Post